The Standards of Recognition

Since the delegates of this Conference change each year, it important to restate the Standards of Recognition adopted for our guidance when this Commission was formed in 1952. These are the guidelines used to evaluate Regularity of a Grand Lodge, and thereby determine whether it is worthy of consideration for Recognition by our member Grand Lodges.

This Commission provides this data for use by our Grand Lodges, and does not attempt to influence or recommend what action should be taken. The Commission serves in an investigative and advisory capacity only.

The standards of Recognition are summarized as follows:

  1. Legitimacy of Origin
  2. Exclusive Territorial Jurisdiction, except by mutual consent and/or treaty.
  3. Adherence to the Ancient Landmarks – specifically, a Belief in God, the Volume of Sacred Law as an indispensable part of the Furniture of the Lodge, and the prohibition of the discussion of politics and religion.

Copyright © 2004 - 2019 | Terms of Use
The Commission on Information for Recognition
The Conference of Grand Masters of Masons of North America